Northwest Athletic Conference NWAC xcountry Sports Banner Image. NWAC Slogan: Character, Competition, Community

Men's Cross Country

Women's Cross Country

Cross Country News

Lane and Spokane claim 2018 Cross Country Championships

2018-11-10 18:52:18

image of

Print Version: Men | Women
Photos: Photo link will be posted here Monday afternoon.

LACEY, WA -- Lane men and Spokane women won the 2018 NWAC Cross Country Championships under excellent running conditions today at Saint Martin's University.

Lane's men won their third consecutive title on the heals of returning champion, sophomore Andy Muha who cruised to the win by 11 seconds (25:28.00) over freshman teammate Shane Henderson who turned in a time of 25:39.00. The Lane duo were followed by a pair of Spokane runners led by sophomore Ethan Green (25:56.00) and freshman Keanu Daos (26:03.00).

The title was the Titan's fourth in history - the first coming in 1985 under NWAC Hall of Fame coach Harland Yriatre. Spokane (34) took second and Treasure Valley (77) third.

Lane head coach Bill Steyer was named Men's Coach of the Year.

The Women's race was closely contested with returning champion Delia DeLeon and 2017 runner-up Micaela Kostecka way out in front of most of the pack mid way through the race.

DeLeon won last year's meet by a convincing 12 seconds over Kostecka.

Kostecka ramped up her pace to take the lead and kept DeLeon in her rear view mirror the rest of the way to win by a commanding 12 seconds, 18:24 to DeLeon's 18:36.

Spokane had a pack of three runners finish behind DeLeon (Jolene Whiteley, Yazmin Estrada & Bethany Meek) to help the Sasquatch to their sixth consecutive title with a team score of 24. Lane (48) took third while Treasure Valley (70) claimed third.

The title is Spokane's 18th women's championship dating back to their first in 1978. Sasquatch head coach Sean McLachlan was named Men's Coach of the Year.

Women's Team Scores Men's Team Scores
1 Spokane 24
2 Lane 48
3 Treasure Valley 70
4 Everett 97
5 Clackamas 167
6 Mt. Hood 177
7 Umpqua 195
8 Olympic 213
Clark, INC.
Olympic, INC.
SW Oregon, INC.
1 Lane 32
2 Spokane 34
3 Treasure Valley 77
4 Green River 154
5 Mt. Hood 165
6 Everett 172
7 Clark
8 Clackamas 183
9 Umpqua 228
10 Olympic College 249
SW Oregon, INC.

Women's All-Americans
1 Micaela Kostecka, Spokane, 18:24.80
2 Delia Deleon, Treasure Valley, 18:36.30
3 Jolene Whiteley, Spokane, 18:51.60
4 Yazmin Estrada, Spokane, 19:00.10
5 Bethany Meek, Spokane, 19:08.30
6 Alexis Crowl, Lane, 19:43.90
7 Melody McGrath, Lane, 19:50.90

Men's All-Americans
1 Andy Muha, Lane 25:28.00
2 Shane Henderson, Lane 25:39.00
3 Ethan Green, Spokane 25:56.00
4 Keanu Daos, Spokane 26:03.00
5 Benjen Lilly, Treasure Valley 26:14.00
6 Anthony Stone, Lane 26:18.00
7 Marcus Rice, Spokane 26:30.00

images of Andy Muha and Micaela Kostecka croosing finsih lineAndy Muha and Micaela Kostecka

Coaches of the Year Sean McLachlan and Bill Steyer.Coaches of the Year Sean McLachlan (left) and Bill Steyer.

Men's Teams
Women's Teams

Men XC Alumni
Women XC Alumni

Athlete of the Week - Click to view

Cross Country Championships - Click for details
NWAC home