Northwest Athletic Conference NWAC softball Sports Banner Image. NWAC Slogan: Character, Competition, Community
Shop the NWAC Store


Softball News

Mt. Hood Saints claim third consecutive softball title

Co-MVPs Amanda Bunch and Kayla Anderson

COY Randy Smith

PORTLAND, OR -- The Mt Hood Saints claimed their third consecutive NWAACC softball title by defeating the Everett Trojans 11-3 under mostly cloudy conditions at Portland's Delta Park Monday.

The North third-seeded Trojans got to the final through the one loss side of the bracket with a 4-3 win over Spokane, a convincing 17-9 win over top-ranked Bellevue and an 8-6 win over third-ranked Wenatchee Valley. 

The second-ranked Saints won four straight to advance to the title game including a 3-2 thriller over the Trojans on Saturday that sent Everett into the one-loss side of the bracket.

The Everett bats got things rolling early on as they loaded the bases and scored three runs in the first inning to send Saints ace Chelsea Schriber back to the dugout with only 2/3 innings served.  Mt Hood called on their other sophomore ace Kayla Anderson to get the Saints out of the inning. 

Anderson kept the Trojans bats from hitting pay dirt the rest of the way while the Saints crept back into the game with a pair of runs in the second along with runs in the fourth and fifth innings to take a 4-3 lead after five.

Mt Hood unleashed in the sixth when Mai Galusha sent a 3-run rocket over the fence and followed with four more runs in the seventh to cap off the scoring. [box score]

The title is the third for Mt. Hood's softball program and the sixth time the team has been in the title game in 15 appearances. The Saints made their first championship appearance in the 2000 title game. The second place trophy marks the first time Everett has placed in the tournament in eight appearances.

Everett head coach Randy Smith was named the Coach of the Year while Mt. Hood's Amanda Bunch and Kayla Anderson were named the Tournament Co-MVPs.

PHOTOS: Jeff Hinds Sports Photography [website]

All-Tournament Team
Brittany Chestnut, Mt. Hood
Cassi Ellis, Wenatchee Valley
Mai Galusha, Mt. Hood
Amy Greenough, Wenatchee Valley
Jessica Guy, Mt. Hood
Rogin Hardy, Bellevue
Kaylee Larson, Wenatchee Valley
Allie Milless, Everett
Nicole Rogers, Bellevue
Melissa Webster, Everett
Jenna Will, Everett
Jennifer Zenger, Everett


Softball Alumni

Softball Championship - Click for event details

NWAC home